Joe’s Crab Shack Gets Rid Of Tipping, I Approve

The no-tipping movement is picking up steam. Joe’s Crab Shack is testing a no-tip model in several of its restaurants.

http://i.cdn.turner.com/money/.element/script/7.0/players/embed.js?videoid=/video/news/2015/11/11/drew-nieporent-tipping.cnnmoney

The casual seafood chain has eliminated gratuity in 18 establishments since August and could eventually expand the policy nationwide.

Front-house workers at the selected restaurants will now earn hourly wages of around $12-$14 an hour, but some can earn more.

http://money.cnn.com/2015/11/11/pf/joes-crab-shack-no-tipping/


Now that’s what I’m talking about right there. Lead by example Joe’s Crab Shack (always thought that would be a dope name for an STD clinic).  There is no more entitled person in the world than a server or bartender.  I only tip now because it’s expected and the cultures norm in the United States, which sucks… I’m supposed to pay the persons salary because they took a job dependent on the customers paying them?  Joe’s Crab Shack, along with Uber and Lyft have it figured out, they can afford to pay their employees so they will and not expect the customers to do it for them.

My tipping breakdown goes somewhere along these lines-

0%- If you complain about prior tips in your day, I’m following it up with a shitty tip and probably a note for you to post online for sympathy.
10%  -Average looking to good-looking woman, they already are getting extremely over tipped as is.
15% -Below average looking women who probably get shorted a little bit.
20% -Dudes. As long as they don’t make some comment about being shorted tips I have no problem balancing out the pay scale and giving a gentleman 20%

I’ve been on both ends of the spectrum in my life. I’ve worked with servers complaining, calling others pieces of shit because of small amount of money they left. Never taking into consideration what that person could be going through in their life to not be able to afford to give you an extra five dollars.

True story, about five years ago I went to Texas Roadhouse on a date. Had a pleasant enough waitress, everything went well. A $45 and change check, I leave the change all behind out of $60. On the way out of the place with this girl right next to me the waitress comes out screaming at me, calling me cheap and throws the change at me. I’m baffled by whats going on, shes calling me cheap for not leaving a tip giving me the “You need this more than I do” routine. Which never makes sense because even if its fifteen cents, you obviously need that more since you’re the one complaining about it not being more. I turn around, walk up to the waitress and take her inside to our table, lift up some napkins and plates and there is my $14  I left behind. She completely missed it. I took that money, showed her and shoved it back in my pocket and left. It was then that my philosophy on tipping really started to change.

Really though, Dwight Schrute absolutely nailed it years ago on the Office –

Why tip someone for a job I’m capable of doing myself? I can deliver food, I can drive a taxi, I can and do cut my own hair. I did, however, tip my urologist. Because I am unable to pulverize my own kidney stones.

Now if the Crab Shack could just tone it down a tad on the salt I would be down with going back more often, grab those Crab Legs with heavy butter like Rick Ross.

Leave a Reply

